Research
Archive
A starting point for studying the work: statements, reporting, interviews, talks and dated project records.
This selected archive covers the published project catalogue. Sources vary in depth: some projects have reporting and exhibition records; others currently rely on studio documentation. Dates identify publication unless an entry explicitly gives an event date. Undated sources remain labelled as such.
Read and search the artist’s writing: selected posts and threads, preserved as text with original dates and links. Or follow connections between posts.
Reading the archive
Artist and studio writing is primary evidence of intention and process. A quoted answer in an interview remains the artist’s statement, even when published elsewhere. Exhibition announcements document what an organizer presented; they are not independent reviews.
Preserved studio excerpts retain selected passages from the catalogue before this revision. They make the original account traceable without implying that repetition is corroboration.
“Independent publication” identifies reporting published outside the studio, project platform or exhibiting gallery. It is not a certification of financial independence. Commissioning and sponsorship details are stated when documented; where they are not disclosed, they remain unknown. Gallery and marketplace publications are labelled separately.
No entry is currently labelled commissioned writing because the commissioning terms have not been established. Historical references support Context, which distinguishes documented acknowledgments from editorial comparisons.
Source pages checked . Publication dates are retained independently of this review date.
Independent publications
Independent publication · On-site reporting with artist interview
This Artist’s ‘Self Checkout’ Lets You Pay What You Wish at Art Basel Miami Beach
Reports from the installation and identifies Visualize Value as its presenter. Figures in the article are interim figures, not final totals.
Independent publication · Reporting with artist statements
Zero 10 | Digital Art Goes Mainstream at Art Basel
Places Self Checkout within the fair’s Zero 10 presentation. Separates the writer’s account from quotations drawn from Butcher’s whitepaper and interviews.
Independent publication · Reported guide
A Guide to Opepen: Jack Butcher’s Pepe-Themed Web3 Experiment
Describes the January launch and 2023 opt-in system; reproduces dated artist posts. The release rules are a historical account, not a guarantee of current platform settings.
Independent publication · Reporting with artist interview
Jack Butcher Unveils Checks Elements NFT Collection
Describes the print process and quotes Butcher on the four elements. His explanation is artist testimony, not independent historical evidence.
Independent publication · Reporting
Jack Butcher’s Checks Are Burning. What’s Next?
Reports the February transition to compositing. Its supply figures describe that moment, not the present.
Independent publication · Reporting with artist interview
How Jack Butcher’s Checks Challenges the Way People View NFTs
Contemporaneous coverage of the first edition. Butcher’s quoted explanations are artist testimony; the surrounding interpretation is Beyer’s.
Artist and studio documentation
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Gas Wars: a proposal to include failed minters
2 selected posts. A September announcement proposes participation for both holders and wallets whose mint attempts failed. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Lemonade Stand: a proposed market simulator
6 selected posts, through 2025-09-27. Work-in-progress notes propose an interactive extension and later describe keeping the idea contained. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Lemonade Stand: an unintended token becomes a project
4 selected posts, through 2025-07-29. A July account of an unintended creator coin precedes a post titled Lemonade Stand and its early grid. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Full Set: the condition for a collective change
4 selected posts, through 2025-01-12. The original statement explains both possible outcomes of the threshold, followed by a progress post and a checkmark response. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Hardware: release, correction and image-making
10 selected posts, through 2025-01-02. The launch thread corrects the maximum supply from 554 to 544 and describes the image-generation and selection process. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Latent: notes after Paris Photo
10 selected posts, through 2024-11-27. Retrospective notes describe prompting, selection, naming and the comparison between a digital negative and a photographic print. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Proof of Work: completion and the reason for signing
6 selected posts. A later account reports the completed 35,262 signatures and explains the relation between physical effort and perceived authenticity. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
1 of 1 of ?: release and the planned signature work
6 selected posts. The release thread links the open edition, unique inscription and a physical work whose signature count would follow participation. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Oviators: serial numbers, images and redemption
7 selected posts, through 2024-04-16. An April explanation connects serial numbers with binary compositions; a later update records a redemption problem. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Opepen: changes, proposals and interface sketches
3 selected posts, through 2025-11-02. Dated statements distinguish an announced opt-in change from later proposals about releases and the token’s interface. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Signature: reading the numerical layer
3 selected posts. The artist explains the viewing control that exposes rotations and circumference, then connects the work to Signed. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Oviators: launch and the Wynwood invitation
3 selected posts. The December launch explains redemption and gives the address of the prototype presentation. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Trademark and Signature: the marks and their medium
5 selected posts. A release-day thread explains how the registered-trademark sign connects trade, movement and the mark of a practiced activity. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Checks Elements: the print claim
1 selected posts. A July 2023 announcement connects physical claims to the token’s single/pair status. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Opepen: the initial image and an unplanned continuation
1 selected posts. A February 2023 account names the geometric Pepe reference and describes the lack of an initial development plan. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Checks: an image becomes a set of rules
10 selected posts, through 2023-01-10. Early process notes distinguish the original image, a rejected distribution idea and a developing compositing system. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Checks: a stated precedent and a correction
4 selected posts. Butcher names The Currency while developing Checks, corrects the figures he initially used and distinguishes his proposed mechanism. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Selected posts from the downloaded account archive
Visualize Value: constraint and a change of medium
2 selected posts, through 2024-10-30. Two statements distinguish an early visual format from later works that use the systems they once illustrated. Original wording and links are preserved; headings and notes are editorial. This is artist testimony, not independent verification.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Know Your Collector — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Wrappers — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Economy of Words — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Work, Luck, Play — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Stock — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Lemonade Stand — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Full Set — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Hardware — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Latent — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
1 of 1 of ? — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Trademark — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Signature — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Oviators — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
Visualize Value — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
VV Rare — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Preserved primary-source excerpts
VV Editions — Preserved studio catalogue excerpts
Selected passages from the public catalogue before this editorial revision. These preserve the artist’s account; their inclusion is not independent corroboration. The capture date is not the work’s creation date.
Artist / studio · Project rules and artist statement
What it is · Economy of Words
Explains scoring and the auction design. It contains launch-stage language and should not be read as a final results ledger. Its 2018 date for Visualize Value conflicts with the existing portfolio and AOTM’s 2019 account.
Artist / studio · Implementation attribution
KYC — GNM attribution notice
Identifies the GNM components incorporated in the renderer and their Apache 2.0 license.
Artist / studio · Interactive collection and saved configuration record
KYC — Saved collection
Uses the repository’s saved export generated 19 August 2026, containing 565 records. Export date is not a launch date; collection count is not a current-owner count.
Artist / studio · Visual archive
Visuals — Visualize Value
Primary image archive with individual titles. Dynamic totals are not treated as permanent catalogue facts.
Artist / studio · Project documentation
Opepen Edition — Project and permanent collection
The live project describes public submissions and a collection of 200 final sets. Dynamic counts are not reproduced as permanent facts here.
Artist / studio · Set record
Set 001 — 8x8
Records submission on 30 April 2023, consensus on 3 May 2023, six edition tiers, and links to the reveal mechanism, block and set signature.
Artist / studio · Artist statement
Checks — Intro
The project’s account of verification, ownership and authorship. Undated; describes the circumstances of the 2023 launch.
Artist / studio · Project documentation
Checks — How it works
Records the 3 January 2023 launch, 12 February migration and compositing rules. This page changes over time; it is not a frozen launch document.
Artist / studio · Project documentation
Checks — FAQ
Confirms that migration has no deadline.
Artist / studio · Project documentation
Self Checkout — Whitepaper
Describes the installation, receipt rules and contributors. Different sections give different opening cost totals; those figures need reconciliation.
Gallery and platform publications
Gallery / platform · Artist interview and recording
Live From Marfa: In Conversation with Jack Butcher
Discusses ownership and collaboration. Publication date is distinct from the interview’s occurrence during Marfa Art Blocks Weekend.
Gallery / platform · Artist interview
In Conversation With Jack Butcher
Butcher explains Gas Wars and survivorship bias. Published by a marketplace; artist responses are primary testimony.
Gallery / platform · Release announcement
Coming to Art Blocks Curated: Gas Wars by Jack Butcher
Documents the planned two-phase release and its rules. Predictions about collector behavior are explicitly predictions, not results.
Gallery / platform · Artist interview
Jack Butcher’s Visual Eloquence: Simplifying Complexity
Artist testimony on his background and working process, published by a gallery. Commissioning terms are not stated.
Gallery / platform · Published panel recording
Digital Art Alpha With Jack Butcher, Christie’s & 6529 Capital
A Christie’s-hosted discussion at Gateway Miami. Date is publication of the recording, not the panel date. Includes artist and market-participant perspectives.
Gallery / platform · Host-associated artist interview
How Jack Butcher Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Generative Art
Discusses Trademark and Signature and records Signature #0 at Gateway Miami. The publisher was involved in the exhibition. Artist responses remain testimony; this entry is not independent exhibition criticism.
Gallery / platform · Marketplace news digest
This Week in Web3 and NFTs: Jack Butcher, [REDACTED], Flipkart & more
Records the December 8 release and Wynwood presentation; Q1 2024 redemption is a plan in this source, not a completion record.
Gallery / platform · Artist interview
Checking in with Jack Butcher (Issue #60)
Butcher discusses collaboration with Jalil, collector control and the network as a medium. Published by a digital-art investment business; not treated here as independent criticism.
Gallery / platform · Gallery artist record
Jack Butcher — Artist and catalogue
Dates Visualize Value to 2019. The date conflicts with the artist’s later Economy of Words statement and needs a first-publication record.
Gallery / platform · Auction catalogue
Jack Butcher — 1 of 1, lot 3, Natively Digital: Art on Bitcoin
Describes the unique inscription, planned open edition and the link to Proof of Work. The page gives conflicting April and May inscription dates; it is not used here to establish an exact inscription date or final open-edition count.
Gallery / platform · Production-partner documentation
Asprey Studio × Jack Butcher
Documents the silver Work sculpture and its assay marks. Asprey is the fabricator and a project partner, not an independent critic.
Gallery / platform · Collection record
Gas Wars by Jack Butcher
Lists 500 artworks and the release date of 17 September 2025. Individual works have a live view.
Exhibition records
Exhibition record · Production-partner exhibition record
Jack Butcher exposé à Paris Photo
Documents LaCollection’s 7–10 November 2024 Paris Photo presentation, printing, curator and producer, and Gary Powell’s composition. PICTO printed the works; the interpretive language is project-associated.
Exhibition record · Exhibitor announcement (PDF)
Jack Butcher: Checks Elements — This Artwork May or May Not Be Notable
Announces three works at Rockefeller Center, New York, 20–23 May 2023, with bidding 16–23 May. Identifies the collaboration with Jean Milant and Cirrus Editions. An auction-house source, not independent criticism.
Exhibition record · Exhibitor project record
Jack Butcher — Work, Luck, Play
Documents the Hong Kong presentation, 25–29 March 2026, and production credits. Silk describes its own involvement in production, collecting and the surrounding editorial programme.
Historical references
Historical reference · Project documentation
The Currency — Damien Hirst
Documents the choice between an NFT and its associated physical work. Butcher explicitly discussed this precedent in his January 2023 Checks notes; no broader equivalence is implied.
Historical reference · Museum collection record
Andy Warhol — Campbell’s Soup Cans (1962)
Identifies the 32 canvases as hand-painted. Supports the historical distinction made on the Stock page, rather than evidence of recognition of Butcher by MoMA.
Historical reference · Museum interpretation
Drawing with Instructions
Explains Sol LeWitt’s Wall Drawing 273 (1975) and the role of the person carrying out its instructions. Used for comparison, not as evidence of influence on Butcher.
Historical reference · Museum collection record
Learning to Love You More, 2002–2009
Documents the participatory web project by Harrell Fletcher and Miranda July, with web designer Yuri Ono. Used as a comparison, not a claim of influence.
Technical references
Technical reference · Technical specification
BIP 39 — Mnemonic code for generating deterministic keys
Supports the explanation of mnemonic encoding and word lists. It does not establish broader claims about the scope of digital money.
Technical reference · Model documentation and source
GNM — Generative aNthropometric Model and Ecosystem
Describes the parametric head model. Use in KYC is recorded separately in the project’s attribution notice; this is not a claim of an artistic collaboration or endorsement by Google.
Project milestones
AOTM gives 2019 as the beginning; a later studio account gives 2018. Project record · Source
Year assigned to the collection by the studio catalogue. Project record · Source
Beginning of Foundation releases as dated by the studio. Project record · Source
The $8 open edition begins; 16,031 editions are created. Project record · Source
Public notes document rejected ideas and the emerging compositing system. Project record · Source
Opepen launches as a 60-minute open edition. Project record · Source
Migration to Originals and compositing become available. Project record · Source
Butcher describes sets of 80 and the opt-in threshold in a post reproduced in the later guide. Project record · Source
Set 001, 8x8, records consensus. The set page preserves links to its reveal mechanism and blockchain record. Project record · Source
The collection and collaboration are described in Christie’s announcement and Erika Lee’s report. Project record · Source
Three works from the related Checks Elements project are exhibited at Christie’s Rockefeller Center galleries. Project record · Source
A release-day thread explains Trademark and Signature together. Project record · Source
Launch and Wynwood prototype invitation. Project record · Source
Matt Medved publishes an artist interview discussing Trademark and Signature. Project record · Source
Work is realized as a four-part silver sculpture. Project record · Source
The artist announces a one-set-at-a-time opt-in change. Project record · Source
The artist explains binary serial-number compositions and announces a claim date. Project record · Source
A post reports a redemption bug affecting credit-card purchases. Project record · Source
The artist announces the paired releases and confirms the open edition is open. Project record · Source
The artist reports completing 35,262 signatures for Proof of Work. Project record · Source
LaCollection presents Latent at Paris Photo; PICTO records the printing and exhibition. Project record · Source
The artist begins a retrospective thread on generation, selection and naming. Project record · Source
The studio dates Stock to 2025. Project record · Source
The release thread announces redemption and corrects the maximum supply to 544. Project record · Source
The artist describes generation and selection. Project record · Source
The artist publishes the conditional rule and links token 27. Project record · Source
A checkmark response follows the progress report; the later catalogue reports completion. Project record · Source
The artist reports the unintended creator-coin activation. Project record · Source
A post names Lemonade Stand and shows an early grid. Project record · Source
The artist begins sharing an unfinished market-simulator experiment. Project record · Source
Art Blocks publishes the release design and predictions about participation. Project record · Source
OpenSea publishes Butcher’s interview with Hannah Vanek. Project record · Source
Release date recorded by Art Blocks. Project record · Source
Presented by Visualize Value in Zero 10, Art Basel Miami Beach. Project record · Source
Artnet News publishes Sarah Cascone’s report from the installation. Project record · Source
Catalogued by the studio as a 2026 work. Project record · Source
The studio catalogues the word-card project and its auction procedure. Project record · Source
Silk presents Work, Luck, Play at Art Basel Hong Kong. Project record · Source
The saved collection export records 565 configurations. Project record · Source